J is for Jig

I consider the jig, aka the form, to be the main piece in a paddle making kit from wavetrainSUP. A jig is nothing more than a tool to streamline a process, something that makes a process easier, and importantly, something that allows the maker to do the same thing repetitively, achieving the same shape, angle, appearance, etc.

The wavetrain jig is simple in appearance and simple in function. It allows the maker to ensure that the five strips they are using to make the paddle shaft are all vertically aligned. The jig holds them all in the same position. The jig allows for the shaft to be removed from the jig and then put back in the exact same position. The wavetrain jig makes paddle making easier.

For me personally, the jig I developed and am selling as part of a wavetrain paddle kit, is one outcome of what really interests me. Some seasoning in life and in woodworking has shown me that while I like the actual making of a paddle, I also like making the tools that are part of the process. I really like the process of conjuring up something that has not been done before. Gap recognition, maybe even opportunity recognition is at the heart of this. I love the time in a project when I am standing in my shop looking at something that is frustrating me. The next thing is me hearing myself say “..there has to be a better way to do this..” and with that I am off on a different path, developing the jig or the tool to make that frustrating thing into something enjoyable.

Leave a comment